DELF (Diplôme d’Études en Langue Française) and DALF (Diplôme Approfondi de Langue Française) are official qualifications issued by the French Ministry of Education to certify French language proficiency of non-native speakers. 

There are six independent diplomas, which correspond, respectively, to the six levels of the Council of Europe’s Common European Framework of Référence for Language (CEFRL).

DELF tout public
Diplôme d’Etudes en Langue Française
Public: Adults
Levels evaluated: A1 to B2

Diplôme Approfondi de Langue Française
Public: Adults
Levels evaluated: C1 to C2

Diplôme d’Etudes en Langue Française
Public: children learning French as a Foreign Language at primary school (7 to 12 years old)
Levels evaluated: A1.1, A1, A2

DELF junior
Diplôme d’Etudes en langue française
Public: Pre-adolescent and adolescent candidates in secondary school (12 to 17 years old)
Levels evaluated: A1 to B2

Diplôme d’Etudes en Langue Française “option professionnelle”
Public: candidates seeking initial employment opportunities or promotion within a French-speaking work environment
Levels evaluated: A1 to B2


TCF – Test de connaissance du francais

The TCF is an exam organised by the Centre International d’Etudes Pédagogiques (CIEP), an official organisation. recognised by the French Ministry of National Education. The test is designed to enable non French speakers to reliably assess their French skills.

TEF – Test d’évaluation du français

The TEF is a test of fluency in French for non-native speakers. It is awarded by the CCIP. It is often required to be admitted into universities and is recognized by the Federal government of Canada as a proof of fluency in immigration procedures.

Close Menu